Traditional Drawings

Shigatsu wa kimi no uso (Your lie in April) sketch drawing

Honestly, I don’t watch anime much now., but there is one I just finished watching. It’s called “Shigatsu wa kimi no uso”(Your lie in April).
Here is a sketch I did. I wanted to do something a bit different than usual. I used water-based markers to create shadows. I don’t really like how the pink contour turned out. I really like the violin, though. It has a nice translucent effect with the bleeding watercolor.

shigatsu_kimi_no_uso_sketch_meelin_SMALL

I added calligraphy to my art for the first time. I wanted to try calligraphy and found that it could be a good addition to prints, postcard and other products alike.

I heard good things about “Shigatsu wa kimi no uso”, so I wanted to watch it. This anime is beautiful. After the first couple minutes, I was already surprised by how pretty it was drawn. The characters are very attractive. I’m wondering if it’s the way the eyes are drawn.

I drew some studies here:

Shigatsu_study_small

It’s also a very touching story. The plot is about a guy who stopped playing piano due to a trauma he had when he was young. He found himself unable to hear the sound of his playing anymore. He meets a violinist girl who gives him the ability to confront his trauma and play again. The ending is sweet. It’s a good anime to get through.

Leave a Reply

