Watercolor

Ghibli Watercolor Illustration Series

I started this challenge in the beginning of september 2016 and finished it in the end of january 2017. It took a long time to get it done, but I still got through it.

Which one do you prefer?
_ghibli_30_days_challenge

It was starting to get hard towards the end, because I had a lack of inspiration for new characters. I decided to do secondary characters like San’s wolf mother, teto fron Nausicaa and the scarecrow from Howl moving castle.

I specially like how Sheeta (Laputa), Setsuko (Grave of the fireflies) and the Robot (Laputa) turned out. There are many others I like and enjoyed drawing in the set.

I watched most of Ghibli’s films and wanted to spend time studying the style and the characters. “Mononoke Hime” was the first one I watched. When I was studying in 2d animation, I started watching most of the other films.

I decided to do the challenge in watercolor because I love watercolor and want to use this medium more often. I recently got myself some watercolor pape, so that I could spend some time painting with watercolor. I also got waterbrushes. I like them, as you can just fill them up with water and paint on the go. They are useful, but I still prefer painting with real brushes,though. Waterbrushes make it hard to control the amount of water.

My favorite Ghibli movie is “Spirited Away”. I also have a soft spot for “The Cat Returns”.

Leave a Reply

